Inauguration of Zonal Councils of Bawku Municipal Assembly

The three Zonal Councils of the Bawku Municipal Assembly were inaugurated on Tuesday 1st of September, 2020. The three Zonal Councils are Bawku, Mognori and Kuka-Zabugu Zonal Councils. The Municipal Chief Executive of Bawku, Hon. Hawa Ninchema congratulated and addressed the Councilors for accepting to serve Mother Ghana at the Local level. She charged Councilors to help in the collections of the Internally Generated Fund(IGF) as well as help to keep proper records of ratable persons and properties in  their respective Zonal Councils as the Municipality was challenged in the area of collection of property rate.

She urged them to educate their electorates on the importance of promoting good hygiene conditions as well as mobilize them to participate actively in the monthly clean-up exercise as the turn-out had not been always too good. Education on the rights, responsibilities, privileges and obligations of citizens was not left out as the Hon. Municipal Chief Executive urged Zonal Councilors to collaborate with the National Commission on Civic Education (N.C.C.E) to deepen education in this regard.

She reminded the meeting that COVID-19 was still here and therefore we should not become complacent in our fight against the virus but rather take all safety precautions given by the Health authorities more seriously particularly the wearing of face masks and social distancing.

All zonal Councilors were sworn into Office with the Official Oath. The Chairmen for the three Zonal Councils were elected and sworn into Office with the Oath of Secrecy. The Chairman of the Bawku Zonal Council is Imoro Musah Saani, while that of Mognori Zonal Council  is Imoro Sulemana. The Chairman of Kuka-Zabugu Zonal Council is Paul Musah Bukari. All three Zonal Councils chose Kusaal and English as languages to be spoken during meetings.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *